Because of the insidious nature of some food, it is sometimes easy to get lost in which foods are healthy foods and not. And, then we pay the price not knowing exactly what’s wrong with us. For example, the signs and symptoms of Celiac disease can vary greatly and differ in adults and children.
The problem begins with Gluten (found in wheat, barley, rye and other grains) in those who are sensitive. It triggers an immune response in the small intestine. This is where the body attacks itself. In this case, the lining of the small intestine is damaged or compromised leading to malabsorption of nutrients also causing diarrhea, fatigue, weight loss and other more serious complications.
Celiac disease is hard to diagnose because its symptoms can mirror other diseases like Irritable Bowl Syndrome and Lactose Intolerance. Most people who have celiac disease will have one or more symptoms, but some people don’t have any at all.
If one removes gluten entirely from his diet the small intestine will eventually heal. This means you must avoid most cereals, grains, and pasta, including many processed or refined foods.
Wheat is not the only grain that has gluten. In wheat the protein in gluten is called gliadin. You might have to get tested for other grain sensitivities besides wheat, barley and rye. Corn can also be a culprit. It has its own gluten.
The list of foods that contain gluten is a gray area, not black and white. The answer is not simple at all. There are foods which contain absolutely no gluten, while with others you have to read labels to be sure. Many grains that have been studied and have been shown as safe by the gluten free food industry are not.
The only way to be safe from all forms of gluten, in my opinion, is to abstain completely from anything that’s been processed or refined. Personally, I avoid all grains except brown rice and white potatoes. Sorghum, Millet and Teff are considered gluten free, but absolutely cannot be on a real gluten free diet.
Certain foods are liable to be cross-contaminated with wheat. Many terms on an ingredient list are ambiguous and may have multiple meanings. For example, modified food starch can come from wheat, potato and corn.
Many food additives may contain gluten and even if they didn’t it would be better not using it. For example, MSG is made by fermentation of various sugars and starches. Although, wheat starch usually isn’t present, corn and tapioca starch may be used as starters.
List of Foods containing Gluten
A comprehensive list of all foods containing gluten would be incredibly huge. As far as I know, it doesn’t exist. That’s why I say throughout this website to avoid processed or refined and packaged foods as much as you can avoiding eating out.
Nobody can completely control manufacturers or those who prepare your food outside your home. That’s why the only way I know to be sure what’s in your food is to make it yourself. Therefore, to be safe, adopt a whole food plant based diet. You will eliminate the doubt whether you are eating healthy foods or not.